John W. Tumelty Logo

Available 24/7

609.390.4600

Former prosecutor

Now fighting for you.

New Jersey Criminal Defense and DUI attorney
who knows how to navigate the local courts.

Former State Prosecutor and Criminal Trial Attorney

Former State Prosecutor

Former Atlantic County Prosecutor

Certified Criminal Trial Attorney

Experienced for over 30 years

View Criminal Defense ResultsView DWI Defense Results Free Consultation

Underage DWI Defense Lawyer

There Are Special Penalties for Underage DUI in New Jersey

Studies have shown that young people who drink and drive are much more likely to cause serious accidents, even if they do not have very much alcohol in their bloodstreams. In response, New Jersey and other states have created special penalties for underage DWI.

I am John W. Tumelty, an experienced Atlantic City underage DWI defense lawyer. I have been practicing criminal and traffic law for 30 years, first as a prosecutor and now as a defense attorney. I have been named by the New Jersey Supreme Court as a certified criminal trial attorney.

If your child is under 21 and has been charged with DWI, contact my law offices in Atlantic County or Cape May County today for a free consultation to discuss your options.

Understanding the DWI Penalties You Are Facing if Convicted

New Jersey has a zero tolerance law for young drivers. If your child is under 21 years of age and the prosecutors can prove that he or she was driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .01 percent or greater, your child can be convicted of underage DWI.

Underage DWI carries the following penalties:

  • Your child’s driver’s license will be suspended for 30 to 90 days.
  • Your child will be required to perform 15 to 30 days of community service.
  • Your child will be required to attend the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center alcohol education classes.
  • Your child may be required to pay multiple fines, fees, and surcharges.

If an underage driver’s BAC has been measured at .08 percent or higher, he or she is likely to be charged with a standard adult DWI offense, which carries additional DWI penalties if convicted. In either case, an experienced attorney may be able to help avoid or reduce these serious consequences.

Contact The Law Offices of John W. Tumelty

An underage DWI can have long-term effects on your child’s future. Don’t hesitate to contact me today at 609-390-4600 to discuss what I can do to aggressively defend your child against underage DWI charges. I can be reached 24-hours a day, seven days a week.

Free Consultation

  • * Indicated a required field