DWI Driver’s License Suspensions
Atlantic County Suspended License Defense Lawyer
The first thing most people are concerned about when they have been charged with DWI is driver’s license suspension. Losing your license can make it harder to get to work and take your kids to school. If you need to be able to drive for your job, it could even get you fired.
I am John W. Tumelty, an experienced Atlantic County DWI attorney serving clients throughout South Jersey, from Ocean County to Cape May, including the Atlantic City area. If you are worried about losing your license for a DWI charge, don’t hesitate to contact me for a free consultation. I have more than 30 years of experience in criminal and DWI law. I am a former New Jersey Deputy Attorney General with the Division of Criminal Justice and a former Assistant Prosecutor with the Atlantic County Prosecutor’s Office. I am a New Jersey Supreme Court-certified criminal trial attorney.
How Long Will Your License Be Suspended if You Are Convicted?
Unlike some other states, New Jersey does not take your license away the moment you are charged with drunk driving. However, if you get convicted of DWI, you will definitely lose your license for a significant amount of time. The following are the basic rules for license suspension:
- First offense: If you are convicted of a first DWI offense with a blood alcohol content of under .10 percent, your license will be suspended for three months. If your BAC is .10 percent or greater, the judge must suspend your license for between seven and 12 months.
- Subsequent offense: License suspension penalties are much higher if you already have one or more DWI convictions on your record. A second offense carries a two-year suspension. If you are convicted of a third offense, you will lose your license for 10 years.
- No special permit: New Jersey does not allow a special hardship permit or license if you are convicted of DWI. You will not be able to get a hardship permit or license that would allow you to drive for work if convicted of DWI.
Can New Jersey Take Away Your License From Another State?
If you are a resident of another state, you could still lose your license after a New Jersey DWI conviction. New Jersey has reciprocity agreements with most other states. Some of these states will impose New Jersey’s license suspension penalties, and others will impose their own.
Whether you are a New Jersey resident or a resident of another state, you need an attorney who is familiar with the local courts and local prosecutors. Contact me today at 609-390-4600 for a free initial consultation to discuss what I can do to help you fight driver’s license suspension in South Jersey. Telephones answered 24 hours a day, seven days a week.