John W. Tumelty Logo

Available 24/7

609.390.4600

Former prosecutor

Now fighting for you.

New Jersey Criminal Defense and DUI attorney
who knows how to navigate the local courts.

Former State Prosecutor and Criminal Trial Attorney

Former State Prosecutor

Former Atlantic County Prosecutor

Certified Criminal Trial Attorney

Experienced for over 30 years

View Criminal Defense ResultsView DWI Defense Results Free Consultation

DWI Ignition Interlock Devices

What Are the Chances of Having an Ignition Interlock Device?

An ignition interlock device is a machine that a person convicted of a DWI blows into in order to monitor his or her blood alcohol content (BAC) prior to starting a vehicle. It is typically installed after the driver’s license suspension period is over for a specified amount of time. Recent changes to New Jersey DWI law have made it increasingly likely that an ignition interlock device will be installed in a person’s vehicle after a drunk driving conviction.

In New Jersey, the courts are mandated to require the installation of an ignition interlock device for persons charged with their second or subsequent DWI offense. The courts may also decide to install the ignition device after a first offense on the vehicle principally operated by the offender. The ignition device is mandated in a first-offense DWI if the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) was .15 or higher.

Can You Prevent Having This Device Installed?

Preventing someone from having an ignition interlock device installed involves reviewing the facts of the case and challenging the prosecution’s “proof” that he or she was under the influence of drugs or alcohol while operating the vehicle. I look at everything from whether there was probable cause to stop the car from whether the Alcotest was administered correctly. I will strive to get the case dismissed, or if that is not possible, to show that my client is able to drive safely without the need for the device.

Contact The Law Offices of John W. Tumelty

If you are required to have an interlock device installed in your car, you will not be able to drive anywhere without first blowing into the device. This can be both embarrassing and troublesome.

I have 30 years of legal experience, both as a former state prosecutor and defense attorney. If you have been charged with DWI, don’t hesitate to call me today at 609-390-4600 to discuss what I can do to provide a strong and aggressive driving under the influence defense. I have law offices in Atlantic County and Cape May County.

Free Consultation

  • * Indicated a required field