John W. Tumelty Logo

Available 24/7

609.390.4600

Former prosecutor

Now fighting for you.

New Jersey Criminal Defense and DUI attorney
who knows how to navigate the local courts.

Former State Prosecutor and Criminal Trial Attorney

Former State Prosecutor

Former Atlantic County Prosecutor

Certified Criminal Trial Attorney

Experienced for over 30 years

View Criminal Defense ResultsView DWI Defense Results Free Consultation

BAC — Blood Alcohol Content in New Jersey

The Role of Blood Alcohol Content with NJ DUI Cases

Blood alcohol content (BAC) — the percentage of alcohol in a person’s blood — plays a very important role in New Jersey DWI cases. If you have been charged with drunk driving based on a high BAC reading from a breath test or a blood test, you should talk to an experienced defense attorney as soon as possible.

I am John W. Tumelty, a DWI defense lawyer representing clients in Atlantic County, Cape May County and other counties throughout South Jersey. I am a former New Jersey Deputy Attorney General with the Division of Criminal Justice and a former Assistant Prosecutor with the Atlantic County Prosecutor’s Office with more than 30 years of experience with criminal and DWI cases. To learn more about the impact of blood alcohol content on your case, contact me today for a free consultation.

Understanding the Consequences of a High BAC Level

Blood alcohol content is by far the most common type of evidence used by prosecutors in New Jersey DWI cases. The police generally obtain BAC readings by using the Alcotest machine to administer breath tests, though occasionally, they use blood and urine tests instead.

In New Jersey, as in almost every other state, the adult blood alcohol limit is .08 percent. If the prosecutor can prove that your BAC was .08 percent or higher, you can be convicted of DWI.

If you are convicted of driving with a blood alcohol content of .10 percent or higher, you may face harsher penalties, including higher fines and longer license suspension. If you are under 21 years old, you can be convicted of underage DWI for driving with a BAC as low as .01 percent.

Scrutinizing the Evidence Against You in Your DWI Case

None of the devices used to measure blood alcohol content are foolproof. At the same time, BAC is not the only type of evidence that can be used to convict someone of DWI. You can also be convicted based on field sobriety tests and officers’ observations of your driving and physical condition.

If you hire me to defend you against DWI charges, I will carefully evaluate all of the evidence against you to identify opportunities to successfully defend against the charge and save your license. Don’t hesitate to call me today at 609-390-4600 to get an experienced DWI defense lawyer working on your case now.

Free Consultation

  • * Indicated a required field