Out-of-State Drivers DUI Defense Lawyer
Living Out-of-State with a DWI in New Jersey
DWI charges in New Jersey must be represented by an in-state DWI defense attorney. If you do not live in the state but you were arrested for DWI in New Jersey, you need local representation to manage the aggressive defense of your case. Mitigation and avoidance of penalties and consequences depend on experienced and dedicated representation. All East Coast states have interstate agreements to enforce motor vehicle laws state by state.
I am John W. Tumelty, a former state prosecutor with the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office and former assistant county prosecutor with the Atlantic County Prosecutor’s Office. My 30 years of experience in traffic and criminal law includes more than 15 years of experience defending individuals against the strict penalties and consequences of DWI conviction in New Jersey.
If you were arrested for DWI in New Jersey, contact me immediately. You need expedient and effective representation from an Atlantic City out-of-state drivers DUI defense lawyer focused on South Jersey cases.
Can DWI in New Jersey Affect My Home State Driving Record?
Yes, reciprocity between states allows the New Jersey DMV to notify your home state DMV of your DWI conviction. Once notified, it is at the discretion of your home state DMV to suspend your driver’s license. The New Jersey courts can only suspend your driver’s license validity in New Jersey.
As your attorney, I will take every opportunity to prevent the loss of your driver’s license. I will challenge all appropriate aspects of the case against you that might contain defects, including probable cause at the initial traffic stop, evaluation of the field sobriety tests, breath test results, police questioning and interrogation methods, and other intoxication evidence assertions.
I will aggressively cross-examine witnesses, including police officers and expert witnesses employed by the prosecution. You deserve serious defense, and I will incorporate expert testimony in your defense, if necessary.
If a court trial is necessary, you will be required to appear at your court date, following arraignment. This second court date is typically four to eight weeks after arraignment. I can work vigorously to minimize the charges against you and help you avoid the associated penalties and life impacts.
Contact My South Jersey Office
Call or e-mail my law firm today to discuss your case or schedule a free initial consultation. Call me at 609-390-4600.
I can be reached 24 hours a day, seven days a week. I have offices in Atlantic County and Cape May County, and I accept Visa and MasterCard for payment of attorney’s fees.