Driving While Suspended for DWI in New Jersey
Representing Clients Throughout South Jersey
In New Jersey, a DWI conviction will result in the suspension of your driver’s license. If you drive while you are suspended for DWI, you face enhanced penalties, including jail time. Pleading guilty to driving while suspended is certainly an option, but a decision you may live to regret. You should speak with an experienced DWI defense attorney concerning your case and possible defense for your DWI charges.
I am John W. Tumelty, an attorney who represents people charged with DWI and related charges, including driving while suspended for DWI. When my law firm represents you, I will work hard to obtain the best possible outcome, including the avoidance or minimization of penalties.
Contact me today to discuss your case. I represent clients throughout South Jersey, including Atlantic County and Cape May County.
Penalties for Driving While Suspended for DWI
The penalties for driving while suspended for DWI in New Jersey are as follows:
First offense — $1,000 fine, an additional one to two years’ license suspension and a minimum of 10 days in jail
Second offense — Up to a $10,000 fine, mandatory jail time (180 days to 18 months) and additional license suspension
A second offense is a felony charge. In addition, there are enhanced penalties for driving while suspended for DWI in a school zone.
Minimizing Your Penalties
As your attorney, I will do everything I can to minimize the consequences of the charge. There may be a viable defense to the charge, and in that case, I will seek to obtain a dismissal of the charge. If that does not appear possible, I will work to minimize the penalties you incur.
Contact an Experienced Defense Lawyer
In a free initial consultation, I can review your case and discuss possible defense strategies with you. Contact me today at 609-390-4600. I have two offices in the Atlantic City area.