John W. Tumelty Logo

Available 24/7

609.390.4600

Former prosecutor

Now fighting for you.

New Jersey Criminal Defense and DUI attorney
who knows how to navigate the local courts.

Former State Prosecutor and Criminal Trial Attorney

Former State Prosecutor

Former Atlantic County Prosecutor

Certified Criminal Trial Attorney

Experienced for over 30 years

View Criminal Defense ResultsView DWI Defense Results Free Consultation

School Zone DWI Attorney

Protecting Your Rights, Preserving Your Freedom

DWI penalties in New Jersey are severe enough. But when the DUI offense occurs in a school zone, additional penalties are imposed. You face the possibility of a higher fine, longer license suspension and additional jail time.

The legal issues in a school zone DWI case are more complex than most DWI cases. But there are multiple defenses that may be possible, depending on the exact circumstances of your case. Get legal help from an experienced DWI defense lawyer today.

Contact the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty for a free initial consultation about a school zone DWI case.

Experienced New Jersey DWI Attorney

I am John W. Tumelty, a defense attorney with 30 years of experience handling DWI cases in the Atlantic City area or elsewhere in South Jersey. I work hard to protect my clients’ rights and preserve their freedom, and I will fight for you.

Being unaware of the presence of a school zone is not a defense. However, many other defenses are possible, including lack of probable cause for the police to stop you, inadmissible Alcotest results and others. I will work hard to obtain a positive outcome for you.

Penalties for School Zone DWI

Potential penalties upon conviction for school zone DWI in New Jersey are double those for a regular DWI:

First offense — $500-$800 fine, one to two years’ license suspension and mandatory jail time of up to 60 days

Second offense — $1,000-$2,000 fine, four years’ license suspension and mandatory four to 180 days in jail

Third offense — $2,000 fine, 20 years’ license suspension and mandatory 180 days in jail

You can be charged with school zone DWI if you are arrested within 1,000 feet of an elementary or secondary school, on school property or driving through any designated school crosswalk. While many school zones are marked, signs do not have to be present for you to be arrested.

Contact an Attorney

For a free initial consultation with a DWI defense attorney, contact The Law Offices of John W. Tumelty, today at 609-390-4600.

Free Consultation

  • * Indicated a required field