Multiple DUI Defense Attorney
Repeat DWI Offender Consequences in New Jersey
Repeat DWI/DUI offenders are punished severely in New Jersey. DWI is a serious traffic offense with serious consequences to one’s wallet, freedom, driving privileges, career, insurance, and livelihood. If you or a loved one has been arrested for three or more DWIs in a 10-year time frame, you need an experienced lawyer. If you thought second-offense penalties were tough, consider the severity of three or more offenses:
- Driver’s license suspension or revocation
- Fines, fees and surcharges up to $6,155
- Jail time of 180 days and probation
- Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle
- Community service up to 90 days
- Alcohol education classes
- Increased auto insurance premiums or loss of insurance
- Job loss
Contact me immediately. I am John W. Tumelty, and I can fight for your rights in Atlantic City and throughout South Jersey. As a former state prosecutor with the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office and former assistant county prosecutor with the Atlantic County Prosecutor’s Office, I have in-depth knowledge and skills necessary to minimize or avoid the consequences you face.
Penalties of DUI Third Offense in New Jersey
An arrest for three or more DUI/DWI offenses within 10 years of your previous offense can mean steep penalties, including:
- Fines, fees and surcharges up to $6,155 not including court fees and IID installation:
- Fine of $1,000
- $280 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee
- $100 to drunk driving fund
- $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) fee
- $1,500/year (for three years) surcharge
- $75 to Neighborhood Service Fund
- Detainment of 12 to 48 hours during two consecutive days
- Imprisonment of 180 days
- Community service for up to 90 days
- Driver’s license suspension for 10 years
- If under 17 years old, license suspension until 17th birthday and 10 years thereafter
- IID installation on all owned, leased or regularly operated vehicles during license suspension and for one to three years after license restoration
- License and plates may be revoked for 10 years
*Penalties increase dramatically in school zones.
Need a Multiple DUI Defense Attorney for Three or More Offenses?
Call me today at 609-390-4600 to discuss your case or to schedule your free initial consultation. I can be reached 24 hours a day, seven days a week.