John W. Tumelty Logo

Available 24/7

609.390.4600

Former prosecutor

Now fighting for you.

New Jersey Criminal Defense and DUI attorney
who knows how to navigate the local courts.

Former State Prosecutor and Criminal Trial Attorney

Former State Prosecutor

Former Atlantic County Prosecutor

Certified Criminal Trial Attorney

Experienced for over 30 years

View Criminal Defense ResultsView DWI Defense Results Free Consultation

DUI Second Offense in New Jersey

DWI/DUI is a serious traffic offense in New Jersey. If you or a loved one has been arrested for a second DWI, you face severe penalties and other life impacts thereafter, including:

  • Driver’s license suspension or revocation
  • Fines, fees and surcharges up to $4,605
  • Jail time of 48 hours up to 90 days and probation
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle
  • Community service for 30 days
  • Alcohol education classes
  • Increased auto insurance premiums or loss of insurance
  • Job loss

Consult with an experienced lawyer immediately if you or a loved one has been arrested for DWI. It is not worth facing the extreme penalties involved without professional legal representation.

I am John W. Tumelty, an experienced Atlantic City DWI attorney. I can fight for your rights and work aggressively to minimize or avoid the consequences you face. As a former state prosecutor with the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office and former assistant county prosecutor with the Atlantic County Prosecutor’s Office, I have in-depth knowledge of all aspects of a DWI case. Contact me today at 609-390-4600.

Penalties of DUI Second Offense in New Jersey

If you are arrested for your second DUI/DWI offense within 10 years of your first offense, you will be facing substantial penalties, including:

  • Fines, fees and surcharges up to $4,605 not including court fees and IID installation:
    • Fine of $500 to $1,000
    • $230 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee
    • $100 to drunk driving fund
    • $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) fee
    • $1,000/year (for three years) surcharge
    • $75 to Neighborhood Service Fund
  • Detainment of 12 to 48 hours during two consecutive days
  • Imprisonment from 48 hours up to 90 days
  • Community service for 30 days
  • Driver’s license suspension for two years
    • If under 17 years old, license suspension until 17th birthday and two years thereafter
  • IID installation on all owned, leased or regularly operated vehicles during license suspension and for one to three years after license restoration
    • License and plates may be revoked for two years

*Penalties increase dramatically in school zones.

Need a DWI Defense Lawyer in Atlantic County?

Call me today at 609-390-4600 to discuss your case or schedule a free initial consultation.

I can be reached 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Free Consultation

  • * Indicated a required field