Carrying a Handgun Without a Permit – Atlantic & Cape May County Criminal Defense
In the state of New Jersey, it is illegal to possess a handgun or a pistol without a license, permit or exemption that is properly issued under the law. This is true whether the person is a resident of New Jersey or is visiting from another state. Even a valid license in another state does not make it legal for someone to possess a handgun in New Jersey. You must have a New Jersey permit to carry a handgun.
The penalties for carrying a handgun without a permit are severe and may include a period of incarceration for between five and 10 years. I am John W. Tumelty, and knowing the laws regarding gun possession in the state, I understand how to build a proper criminal defense for my clients. I have practiced criminal law in Atlantic City, Cape May, Ocean City, Sea Isle City, Avalon, Stone Harbor, and Wildwood, and across the state for more than 30 years.
When you are faced with serious charges and need to speak with an attorney, I invite you to call me today at 609-390-4600 to discuss your case.
South Jersey Carrying a Handgun Without a Permit Charges
The possession of a handgun without a proper permit or license in New Jersey is considered a second-degree offense that often carries a prison term upon conviction. Additionally, a charge such as this is considered under the Graves Act, which states that a person is ineligible to get parole until a defined period of incarceration has been served.
With such serious potential penalties, it is critical to speak with a lawyer as soon as possible.