John W. Tumelty Logo

Available 24/7

609.390.4600

RECENT DWI & CRIMINAL DEFENSE RESULTS

STATE v. HENDRICKS — NEW JERSEY MURDER TRIAL — "NOT GUILTY" VERDICT

Mr. Tumelty represented Helena Hendricks, who was charged with first degree murder in Atlantic County Superior Court. The defendant faced a number of additional charges, including armed robbery, conspiracy and possession of a handgun for an unlawful purpose. At the conclusion of a jury trial that lasted three weeks, the defendant was found "not guilty" of all charges.

View More Criminal Defense ResultsView More DWI Defense Results Free Consultation

Crackdown on Underage Drinking Offenses in Cape May County

As the warmer weather approaches, many teenagers find themselves free from the demands that high school and college place on them. With more opportunities to spend time with peers they may find themselves in social situations where they are offered a cocktail or two. They may even attempt to find fun at the local bar by using a fake ID.

Over this past Memorial Day weekend several people were arrested as a result of a multi-agency crackdown on underage drinking in Cape May County. The Cape May County Prosecutor’s Office and New Jersey State Police and Department of Alcohol Beverage Control (ABC) joined forces in an effort to deter underage drinking at the shore this summer.

An underage drinking enforcement detail outside a local liquor store in Dennis Township netted the arrest of six people. Three arrests occurred as a result of undercover work at two bars in North Wildwood. The Division of Alcohol and Beverage controls Director Michael Halfacre indicated that “Working in conjunction with other agencies is ideal because they add local and institutional intelligence that go a long way towards effective enforcement”.

Underage possession or consumption of alcohol in New Jersey is a criminal offense with serious consequences. Under N.J.S.A. §2C:33-15, anyone under the age of 21 who knowingly possesses or consumes alcohol is guilty of a disorderly persons offense. Violators will face fines of $500 or more and a mandatory suspension or postponement of their driving privileges for a period of 6 months, and may be required to complete an alcohol education program. This will cause the young violator to have a criminal record.

All it takes sometimes is being in the wrong place at the wrong time to be arrested and charged with underage possession or consumption of alcohol. This occurs frequently in Cape May County as the local law enforcement community acts aggressively in apprehending and prosecuting underage alcohol offenses.

If you or your child has been charged with an underage alcohol offense you need to speak with an experienced local criminal defense lawyer.

Contact the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty if you have any questions about underage drinking.

Visit our website at www.johntumeltylaw.com

Free Consultation

  • * Indicated a required field