Shoplifting in New Jersey Is a Crime
The holidays can be hard financially. However, no gifts are worth spending time behind bars. Here’s what you should know..
New Jersey Law: Shoplifting
Shoplifting / larceny is called “theft” under the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice. Criminal penalties for theft vary depending on the amount and value of the goods the defendant is accused of stealing.
- Second degree theft: Someone who steals property that is $75,000 or more can be charged with theft in the second degree. A defendant could face up to $150,000 in fines and 10 years in prison for second degree theft.
- Third degree theft: Anything between $500 and $75,000 is a crime of the third degree (stealing a firearm, car or animal is also theft in the third degree). A defendant could face up to $15,000 in fines and five years in prison for third degree theft.
- Fourth degree theft: Fourth degree theft includes stealing property worth $200 to $500. A defendant could face up to $10,000 in fines and 18 months in prison for theft in the fourth degree.
- Disorderly persons offense: Stealing goods under $200 is considered a “disorderly persons offense.” A defendant could face up to ten days in jail for a disorderly persons offense.
In New Jersey, individuals convicted of theft / larceny also have to pay for the items they stole (restitution), court costs, and a shoplifting surcharge (usually $150). If a child steals, his or her parents are responsible for paying the cost of the stolen goods.
Local courts handle shoplifting charges. Therefore, if you have been accused of shoplifting – no matter what your age – it is important to hire a shoplifting defense attorney who has practiced in your local court.
Remember, the best present you can give is your presence.
Talk to an Experienced Attorney
If you or your child has been charged with theft or larceny in NJ, you need a skilled criminal defense lawyer fighting to protect your rights. The experienced, aggressive criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty can contest the charges and help you avoid the most severe penalties. Contact us immediately to schedule a free initial consultation at 609-390-4600 or fill out the form below.