John W. Tumelty Logo



Mr. Tumelty represented Helena Hendricks, who was charged with first degree murder in Atlantic County Superior Court. The defendant faced a number of additional charges, including armed robbery, conspiracy and possession of a handgun for an unlawful purpose. At the conclusion of a jury trial that lasted three weeks, the defendant was found "not guilty" of all charges.

View More Criminal Defense ResultsView More DWI Defense Results Free Consultation

Using A Fake ID? You Need to Know the Penalties In New Jersey

Using a fake ID is a situation that could lead to a steep penalty. Although you might hope that if you are caught you are let off with just a warning, you cannot always count on this as your opportunity to avoid criminal charges.

Anyone who tries to gain access to bars or to purchase alcohol with a fake ID needs to understand that in New Jersey, they could be facing dire consequences. This is because New Jersey laws make it illegal to create, sell, display or possess a fake ID.

How Can You Be Accused of a Fake ID Crime?

Each of these actions is classified as a crime and comes with possible jail time, in addition to the impact of a criminal record following you for many years to come. Most people will want to avoid the impact of a criminal record as this could show up on employment and other background checks.

Anyone who uses a fake ID for the purpose of misrepresenting their age or other personal information used for identification could be facing these charges. Displaying a false document is known as a third-degree crime and if you are found guilty, you could be facing fines of up to $15,000 and up to five years in jail. In a juvenile contest, however, this stiff penalty is often not assessed. Juveniles with fake IDs will most likely be charged with a disorderly person’s offense.

It is much worse for an adult to use a fake ID for any other illegal objection such as misrepresentation or commercial fraud, than for a young adult to lie about their age for the purpose of getting access to cigarettes or alcohol. When a juvenile is convicted of possessing a fake ID in New Jersey, they will face a maximum fine of $1,000 and up to six months in prison and mandatory suspension of their driver’s license. A knowledgeable criminal defense attorney can be hired as soon as possible to give anyone facing fake ID charges the best possible opportunity to avoid these.

Support From a New Jersey Lawyer You Can Trust

If you’ve been accused of a crime like having or making fake ids, set aside time to talk with an experienced criminal defender at the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty.

The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.

Free Consultation

"*" indicates required fields