DWI / DUI Driver’s License Suspension in New Jersey
For any driver who is stopped and charged with DWI / DUI (driving under the influence), one of the most pressing questions is: how will this charge affect my license? Will it lead to a driver’s license suspension?
As DWI arrest defense lawyers know, your license is important to you. This blog post addresses some of the basics of driver’s license suspension in New Jersey.
DUI / DWI License Suspension
The penalties you can face for DWI / DUI depend on your blood alcohol content – BAC – and the number of times you have been charged with DWI / DUI. The consequences can range from $250 in fines and license suspension to up to thousands of dollars in fines, 10-year license suspension and mandatory prison sentences.
- First DWI / DUI with BAC greater than 0.08 percent but less than 0.10 percent: A DWI / DUI with a BAC of 0.08 percent but less than 0.10 percent carries a three-month license suspension.
- First DWI / DUI with BAC of 0.10 percent or greater: A DWI / DUI with a BAC of 0.10 percent will cause a seven-month to one-year license suspension. If your BAC is 0.15 percent or greater, you will have to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicles during the license suspension period and it will remain installed for an additional six months to one year after your license suspension ends.
- Second DWI / DUI conviction within 10 years: If you are convicted of a second DWI / DUI offense within a 10-year period, your license will be suspended for two years and you will be required to use an ignition interlock device during that period and for one to three years after you license suspension ends. There are also mandatory fines and a prison sentence of up to 90 days.
- Third DWI / DUI conviction within 10 years: If you are convicted of a third DWI / DUI offense within a 10-year period, your license will be suspended for ten years and you will be required to use an ignition interlock device during the suspension period and for an additional one to three years after your license is restored. This conviction carries mandatory fines and a 180-day prison sentence.
Ignition interlock devices have to be installed and maintained at your expense. If you fail to have an ignition interlock installed when ordered by a judge, it could result in an additional one-year driver’s license suspension.
Truck Driver or Drive for a Living?
The consequences of even one DWI / DUI conviction can be catastrophic for anyone who holds a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL):
- An initial DWI / DUI conviction in a passenger vehicle will result in a three- to 12-month basic driver’s license suspension and a one-year CDL suspension.
- A second DWI / DUI conviction in a passenger vehicle will result in a two-year basic driver’s license suspension. Your CDL can be permanently revoked.
Because of the serious nature of even the lowest level of penalty for a DWI / DUI, you may want to speak with a DWI / DUI defense attorney who can help you understand your options and how best to protect your driving privileges in New Jersey.