What Can Happen If You Drive Without Car Insurance?
Motorists in NJ are required to have auto insurance because lawmakers recognize that car accidents are sometimes unavoidable. The truth is that you could be involved in a car accident – no matter how safe you are while driving. In order to ensure that everyone who operates a motor vehicle on a New Jersey road or highway is properly insured, N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2 stipulates that motorists must maintain insurance or face serious penalties. In fact, a ticket for driving without car insurance can actually result in more severe penalties than a drunk driving charge.
Moreover, you must purchase auto insurance even if you do not regularly drive your car on the roadway. Anyone who registers or principally garages their vehicle in NJ must carry a minimum amount of vehicle liability insurance. These mandatory minimums typically include the following:
· $5,000 per accident for damage to property.
· $15,000 per accident for bodily injury to one person or death of one person.
· $30,000 per accident for bodily injuries to multiple people or deaths of multiple people.
You may be in violation of the law without realizing it. For instance, it’s possible that you purchased car insurance but failed to make a monthly payment at some point, neglected to renew your coverage before it lapsed, or mistakenly believed you were covered by a family member’s insurance policy. Regardless of the reason, however, your inability to provide proof of insurance when asked to do so by a New Jersey police officer will likely result in you being ticketed.
Significant Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in NJ
The penalties for Driving Without Insurance may include:
· Driver’s license suspension for one year
· $1,000 fine
· Annual surcharges of $250 for three years
· Community service
If you are cited for a second offense, the penalties can be magnified and could even result in jail time.
Making matters worse is the fact that your insurance premiums may go sky-high due to the traffic violations. That’s because insurance companies use something known as “insurance points” when determining how much to charge motorists – and a conviction for Driving Without Insurance will result in you being assessed nine points. In the worst cases, the insurance company might deny you coverage altogether.
If you have been cited for a traffic violation in Atlantic County, New Jersey, you need an experienced traffic defense attorney on your side. The experienced criminal and traffic defense lawyers at the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty can help you fight your ticket and maintain your license. Contact us anytime to schedule a free initial consultation.