John W. Tumelty Logo

Available 24/7

609.390.4600

RECENT DWI & CRIMINAL DEFENSE RESULTS

STATE v. HENDRICKS — NEW JERSEY MURDER TRIAL — "NOT GUILTY" VERDICT

Mr. Tumelty represented Helena Hendricks, who was charged with first degree murder in Atlantic County Superior Court. The defendant faced a number of additional charges, including armed robbery, conspiracy and possession of a handgun for an unlawful purpose. At the conclusion of a jury trial that lasted three weeks, the defendant was found "not guilty" of all charges.

View More Criminal Defense ResultsView More DWI Defense Results Free Consultation

5 Reasons Not To Drink And Drive In New Jersey

Picture representing drinking and driving.Getting a DWI isn’t a criminal offense in New Jersey. That being said, don’t drink and drive. It’s still a bad decision that can have awful consequences. The most obvious one, you could die or end up killing someone else.

Even if you don’t cause any physical harm to yourself or others, there are still a lot of legal problems if you get pulled over. Here are five reasons not to drink and drive.

1) You’ll Get Your Driver’s License Suspended

Everyone convicted of DWI in New Jersey will have their driver’s license suspended. It could be three months all the way up to 10 years. The length of the suspension depends on your driving record and if you have prior DUI convictions.

2) You Might Go To Prison

If you’re convicted of DWI for the first time, the judge could send you to jail for up to 30 days. For a second offense, a jail term of at least two days and up to 90 days is mandatory. A third offense gets you a 180-day sentence.

3) You’ll Have To Attend Alcohol Classes

Anyone convicted of DWI must attend between 12 and 48 hours of Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) classes at the judge’s discretion.

4) It’ll Hurt Your Wallet

The fines, fees, and surcharges associated with a DWI conviction can range from $3,755 to $6,055. That hurts. A LOT.

5) Ignition Interlock Requirement

An ignition interlock requirement is mandatory if your blood alcohol level is .15 percent or higher. It’s also mandatory if you are looking at a second or subsequent offense. This means that you may have to have a device installed on your vehicle once your driving privileges are reinstated.

Getting a DWI can also leave a major mark on your driving record, potentially causing your insurance rates to increase dramatically. Depending on the facts of your case, you may have defenses against the charges, or it may be possible to get them reduced to a lesser offense like reckless driving.

As your lawyer, John W. Tumelty will carefully evaluate your opportunities for avoiding these penalties. Tumelty has 30 years of experience in criminal and DWI law. He is a former deputy attorney general with the New Jersey Division of Criminal Justice and former assistant prosecutor with the Atlantic County Prosecutor’s Office.

Click Here To Contact Experienced Attorney John Tumelty And Discuss Your DWI Charges.

This article, and other articles, on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.

Summary
Article Name
5 Reasons Not To Drink And Drive In New Jersey
Description
Even if you don’t cause any physical harm to yourself or others, there are still a lot of legal problems if you get pulled over. Here are five reasons not to drink and drive.

Free Consultation

  • * Indicated a required field