Former State Prosecutor

Former Atlantic County Prosecutor

Certified Criminal Trial Attorney

Experienced for over 30 years

Available 24/7

609.390.4600

RECENT DWI & CRIMINAL DEFENSE RESULTS

STATE v. HENDRICKS — NEW JERSEY MURDER TRIAL — “NOT GUILTY” VERDICT

Mr. Tumelty represented Helena Hendricks, who was charged with first degree murder in Atlantic County Superior Court. The defendant faced a number of additional charges, including armed robbery, conspiracy and possession of a handgun for an unlawful purpose. At the conclusion of a jury trial that lasted three weeks, the defendant was found “not guilty” of all charges.

Former State Prosecutor

Former Atlantic County Prosecutor

Certified Criminal Trial Attorney

Experienced for Over 30 Years

What to Do If You’re Arrested

If you’re ever accused of a crime, it’s important to do the following: #1: Stay silent. Recognize that it’s your legal right not to answer questions at this time. Police want you to converse and hope you’ll admit the crime. In this scenario, tell the officer you’re invoking the right not to speak and that… Continue Reading

When is Evidence Illegally Obtained?

Several types of evidence fall under the scope of laws pertaining to illegally obtained evidence. Occasionally, evidence that may either greatly harm or help a side in a legal argument is presented. However, the evidence, regardless of relevance, may be inadmissible. That’s because the way in which the evidence was obtained is as important as… Continue Reading

What is a Formal Arraignment?

The court process in the state of New Jersey may not be as simple as it seems on the surface. Though many believe that going to court is a one and done situation, there is a process to it that is more complex than that. Among the many steps involved is what is called a… Continue Reading

DWI First Offense in New Jersey

Serious Penalties Associated with a First Offense DUI

In New Jersey, DWI/DUI is charged as a traffic offense, but that does not lessen the severity of the charge. Even on a first offense DWI, you could face serious penalties, including:

  • Driver’s license suspension
  • Fines, fees and surcharges up to $4,105
  • Possible jail time up to 30 days and probation
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle
  • Alcohol education classes
  • Increased auto insurance premiums or loss of insurance
  • Job loss

Driving a motor vehicle or a boat with a BAC of .08 percent or higher is considered driving while intoxicated. Consult with an experienced and proactive lawyer immediately if you or a loved one has been arrested for DWI. Consequences increase in severity at BAC levels above .1 percent and .15 percent.

I am John W. Tumelty, an experienced Atlantic City DWI attorney. As a former state prosecutor with the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office and former assistant county prosecutor with the Atlantic County Prosecutor’s Office, I can fight for your rights and work aggressively to minimize or avoid the consequential penalties you face.

Penalties of DWI First Offense in New Jersey

BAC of .08 percent or higher but less than .1 percent:

  • Fines, fees and surcharges up to $3,905 not including court fees and IID installation:
    • Fine of $250 to $400
    • $230 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee
    • $100 to drunk driving fund
    • $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) fee
    • $1,000/year (for three years) surcharge
    • $75 to Neighborhood Service Fund
  • Detainment of 12 to 48 hours during two consecutive days
  • Imprisonment up to 30 days
  • Driver’s license suspension for three months
    • If under 17 years old, license suspension until 17 th birthday and three months thereafter
  • Possible IID installed on all owned, leased or regularly operated vehicles for six months to one year after license restoration

BAC of .1 percent or more:

  • Fines, fees and surcharges up to $4,105 not including court fees and IID installation:
    • Fine of $300 to $500
    • All fees and surcharges of .08 to .1 percent BAC offense
  • Detainment of 12 to 48 hours during two consecutive days
  • Imprisonment up to 30 days
  • Driver’s license suspension for seven months to one year
    • If under 17 years old, license suspension until 17 th birthday and seven months to one year thereafter
  • Possible IID installed on all owned, leased or regularly operated vehicles for six months to one year after period of license suspension
    • If your BAC is verified at .15 percent or greater, an IID will be installed during license suspension and six months to one year after restoration.

*Penalties increase dramatically in school zones.

Need a DUI Attorney in Atlantic City?

Call me today at 609-390-4600 to schedule your free consultation to discuss your options.

Free Consultation 24/7

Nights & Weekends

Free Consultation

Free Consultation

Atlantic County Offices

JOHN W. TUMELTY
ATTORNEY-AT-LAW
CRIMINAL LAWYER
1 S. NEW YORK AVENUE, SUITE 212
ATLANTIC CITY, NJ 08401

609.345.3300

Cape May County Offices

ATTORNEY JOHN TUMELTY
DEFENSE LAWYER
539 SOUTH SHORE ROAD
MARMORA, NJ 08223

609.390.4600

ATTORNEY JOHN TUMELTY
DEFENSE LAWYER
3318 SIMPSON AVENUE
OCEAN CITY, NJ 08226

609.385.4221

ATTORNEY JOHN W. TUMELTY
CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER
100 E RIO GRANDE AVE
WILDWOOD, NJ 08260

609.277.2786

Areas We Serve

Atlantic County Offices

Cape May County Offices

ATTORNEY JOHN W. TUMELTY
CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER
100 E RIO GRANDE AVE
WILDWOOD, NJ 08260

609.277.2786 Get Directions

Seasoned criminal defense lawyer John W. Tumelty has three conveniently located offices in Atlantic City, Somers Point and Marmora, NJ. He serves clients in Atlantic, Ocean, Gloucester and Cape May counties and the Jersey Shore, including: Absecon, Atlantic City, Avalon, Cape May, Dennis Township, Egg Harbor Township, Galloway Township, Hamilton Township, Hammonton, Linwood, Lower Township, Margate, Middle Township, Northfield, Ocean City, Pleasantville, Sea Isle City, Somers Point, Stone Harbor, Upper Township, Ventnor and Wildwood.